Florida Concealed Carry Permit Information
Does Florida issue concealed carry permits?
Yes, Florida is a Shall Issue state and will issue concealed carry
permits to Residents and Non-Residents that meet the state
requirements for a Florida
concealed carry permit.
Who issues Florida Concealed Carry Permits? Department of Agriculture
Division of Licensing
Post Office Box 6687
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6687
Fax: (850) 245-5655
There is a background check but
not NICS. Your permit is
currently issued by the Department of Agriculture which is not
a law enforcement agency, and therefore cannot do the NICS
check required by federal law. Only “law enforcement agencies”
can access NICS, and therefore the federal exemption that
normally applies to concealed weapon permits, does not apply
to those issued in Florida.
Permit Valid For:
Permit valid for seven (7) years from date of issue.
All paperwork for your permit may be requested via mail for
- You must be 21 to get a concealed carry permit.
- Have a passport-style, color photograph made.
- Get verification of training that satisfies the training
requirement. NRA, DD-14, state training course, etc.
serving in the United States Armed Forces may submit a copy of
their Military ID Card to satisfy the training requirement.
- Get certified copies of court documents relating to any
criminal charges against you.
- Take the fingerprint card to a local law enforcement agency
and ask to be fingerprinted. In addition to providing
fingerprinting services for the traditional “hard-card”
format, electronic fingerprint devices are available at almost
all 67 county sheriff’s offices in the state. Visit the
Electronic Fingerprints Information page to learn how Live
Scan fingerprinting saves processing time.*
- Complete the application. Either print clearly with ink or
type the information.
- In the presence of a notary, sign application.**
- Submit a check or money order for the license fee of $117
* Electronic fingerprinting can dramatically reduce the permit
** Some concealed carry courses have a notary available at the
time of the class
- Application form
- Passport photo
- Training verification
||$65 – Florida Resident|
||$30 WR license – retired Florida Law Enforcement and a
||$107 – Out of state resident ($65 renewal and $42
fingerprint card fee)|
Change of Name or Address: Replacement Florida
Concealed Weapon Permits cost
Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Permits: Replacement Florida
Concealed Weapon Permits cost
$15. If you have a stolen license and have a police report
indicating the license was in the stolen content the
replacement is free.
Informing Law Enforcement of Carry: Informing law enforcement is required upon demand.
Automobile carry: You may carry your weapon on you or in a “securely encased”
Places off-limits when carrying:
- any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05
- any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
- any detention facility, prison, or jail; any courthouse
- any courtroom*
- any polling place
- any meeting of the governing body of a county, public
school district, municipality, or special district
- any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof
- any school, college, or professional athletic event not
related to firearms
- any school administration building
- any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense
alcoholic beverages for consumption*
- any elementary or secondary school facility
- any area technical center
- any college or university facility*
- inside the passenger terminal and sterile area of any
- any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by
Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine:
Florida is a Castle Doctrine state and does have a stand-your-ground
Open Carry: Prohibited in all public areas.
Localities with Varying Laws: Florida has pre-emption, localities are prohibited from
enacting more stringent laws.
Free Pocket Constitution & Declaration of Independence
with every class!
A must read if you really want to understand Florida Firearms Law!
Click the book to order the book.
Considering entering the military? Take the Armed
Services Vocational Aptitude Battery test.
Click logo below: